PDA

View Full Version : Mike Francesa - How the mighty have fallen Part 1 of 5

mezz1962
05-12-2011, 00:18
I will be doing a few articles on Mike Francesa, let me say first that I have been listening to him for the past 20+ years, and I have the utmost respect, but I realized that Francesa, is no longer the person he was before Dog left, so I am writing my reasons why he is no longer the "Sports Pope."

Part 1 STRAW MAN

How Francesa uses the "Straw man" argument to cover for his lack of knowledge of a particular subject, or his bias against certain teams and/or players.

According to the definition: The straw man argument, also called straw dog or scarecrow, deliberately misrepresents and weakens the argument of the opposing side. This can be done by leaving out key points of an opposing argument, quoting a person’s words out of context, or presenting a particular person’s poor defense as the entire defense of an opposing side.

Example:

Caller: Wright, and Reyes have really gotten off to a great start, and I think they may both have a really great 2011 season. Wright is hitting 324, and Reyes is hitting .359. Do you think they will be able to keep it up?

Francesa: They have gotten off to a good start, but They can't hit in the clutch, they both have never hit in the clutch

Caller: Yea, but Wright is hitting .292 with runners in scoring position this year

Francesa: (Waves to the booth indicating to them to hang up on the caller) Wright has never gotten a big hit ever, go back and look at what he did at the end of 2006, 2007, 2008 he never gets a big hit, Reyes has been even worse, just look at their stats...THEY ARE HORRIBLE! Next Caller.