PDA

View Full Version : "Adam the Bull" Loyal Followers

mezz1962
07-28-2011, 14:02
As a writer I always wondered, what makes a loyal fan? The truly simple answer is someone that follows your work and then communicates their compliments to you, but is that really a loyal follower? As I communicated with WFAN more and more since moving back to New York from South Carolina, my question about "loyalty" naturally extended to these hosts, wondering if they too wrestled with similar concerns.

It's easy to confuse regular listeners with loyalty. For instance, a few years ago I listened to the same announcers in the same time slot, on the same station. To some it may have seemed that I was a loyal listener; however, nothing could have been further from the way I felt. The host in my opinion was wrong about 50% of the time, he also did not possess my attitude about disagreeing on air when a caller made a moronic statement, nor did he question the motives of some callers, or even guests.

I complained about it to anyone who would listen and the only true reason I even listened to this host was the fact that he and I happened to have worked the same schedule. The moment this host moved to a different time slot, and eventually moved to a new station was the last time I ever tuned into him. The point is that you need to scratch below the surface to find out whether someone is loyal or not.

Adam the Bull normally works a floating scheduled on weekends. Most times you'll find he is on WFAN sometime before or just after the New York Mets game, so listening to him is pretty easy to do, and whether you're a loyal listener or not, on weekends you're bound to run into his program.