PDA

View Full Version : Randy Moss was a Class[less] Act

SamCos1924
09-02-2011, 21:50
My name is Sam Costantino and I am a sports journalist located at the Jersey Shore. I recently starter my sports blog 1924 Sports. click this link to check it out -- http://1924sports.wordpress.com/

By: Sam Costantino

As a true admirer of athletic talent, I always gave wide receiver Randy Moss the benefit of the doubt when his character was called into question – but looking back now, I was wrong to do so. Coming out of college, NFL teams were afraid to draft Moss early in the first round based on the fact the extremely talented, but troubled play maker was labeled as an athlete with “character issues.” The Minnesota Vikings were the one team eventually willing to take a chance on Moss, using the 21st overall pick in the ’98 draft to take the 6’4 wide receiver out of Marshall University.

The impact Moss had on the league was immediate in his rookie season, as he hauled in 69 catches for 1,313 yards, while also setting an NFL rookie record for touchdown receptions with 17. Over his 13 year career, Moss established himself as one of the best wide receivers to ever play the game. In 2007 as a member of the New England Patriots, he set the NFL record for touchdown catches in a season with 23.

So why, when Moss was cut by the Vikings in 2010 after his second stint with the team-one that lasted only 4 weeks- was only one team, the Tennessee Titans willing to take a chance on him? Think about it? How could a player that was that good on Sundays have been shown the door by so many teams throughout the years? The Vikings 1998-2004, The Raiders 2005-2006 [and they are owned by Al Davis] The Patriots 2007-2010, The Vikings [again] and finally Tennessee, before he eventually left the game prior to the 2011 season. It is the fact that Moss is quite frankly, just a bad guy.